028-88763469

Principle, function and characteristic analysis of lithium battery protection circuit

Issuing time:2021-10-11 09:28

In recent years, more and more products, such as PDAs, digital cameras, mobile phones, portable audio devices and Bluetooth devices, use lithium batteries as their main power supply. Lithium battery has the advantages of small volume, high energy density, no memory effect, long cycle life, high voltage battery and low self discharge rate. They are different from nickel cadmium and nickel hydrogen batteries. It is necessary to consider charging and discharging lithium batteries. Reliability to avoid characteristic deterioration. The maintenance of overcharge, overdischarge, overcurrent and short circuit of lithium battery is very important, so the maintenance circuit is usually designed in the battery pack to maintain the lithium battery.


Due to the high energy density of lithium-ion batteries, it is difficult to ensure the reliability of batteries. In the case of overcharge, the energy of the battery will be surplus after the temperature rises, so the electrolyte will decompose to produce gas, which may lead to spontaneous combustion or rupture due to the increase of internal pressure; On the contrary, under the condition of over discharge, the electrolyte will decompose and cause battery characteristics, and the durability will be reduced, thus reducing the number of rechargeable times.


The maintenance circuit of lithium ion battery shall ensure reliability under such overcharge and discharge conditions and avoid characteristic degradation. The maintenance circuit of lithium ion battery consists of maintenance IC and two power MOSFETs. During this period, the maintenance IC monitors the battery voltage and switches to external power MOSFET to maintain the battery in case of overcharge or discharge. The maintenance IC has too many functions. Charge maintenance, over discharge maintenance and overcurrent / short circuit maintenance.


The principle of overcharge maintenance IC is that when the external charger charges the lithium battery, the charging conditions must be stopped to avoid the increase of internal pressure due to the increase of temperature. At this time, the maintenance IC needs to detect the battery voltage. When the battery voltage reaches 4.25v (assuming that the battery overcharge point is 4.25v), it will activate overcharge maintenance, change the power MOS from on to off, and then stop charging.


In addition, it is necessary to pay attention to the fault of overcharge detection caused by noise to avoid judging as overcharge maintenance. Therefore, the delay time needs to be set, and the delay time cannot be shorter than the duration of the noise.


In the case of over discharge, the electrolyte decomposes and the battery characteristics deteriorate, resulting in a reduction in the number of charges. Using lithium battery to maintain IC can avoid over discharge and complete battery maintenance function. Principle of over discharge maintenance IC: in order to avoid over discharge of lithium battery, it is assumed that the lithium battery is connected to the load. When the voltage of the lithium battery is lower than its over discharge voltage detection point (assumed to be 2.3V), the over discharge maintenance function will be activated to turn the power MOSFET from on to off and cut off the discharge, so as to avoid the over discharge of the battery and keep the battery in the standby mode of low quiescent current. At this time, the current is only 0.1ua.


When the lithium battery is connected to the charger and the voltage of the lithium battery is higher than the over discharge voltage at this time, the over discharge maintenance function can be avoided. In addition, considering the condition of pulse discharge, the over discharge detection circuit has a delay time to avoid failure.


Share to:
Home  |  About us  |  Product  |  Development  |  News  |  Contact us
———————————————————————————————
Email: chenm@tjeminent.com Landline: 028-88763469(Ms. Chen) Address: No. 21, yangzongqi Road, Qionglai Industrial Park, Tianfu new area, Chengdu
Mobile version

022-23869972
028-88763469

锂电池保护电路原理、功能及特性分析

发表时间:2021-10-11 09:28

近年来,越来越多的产品,例如PDA,数码相机,移动电话,便携式音频设备和蓝牙设备,都采用锂电池作为其主要电源。 锂电池具有体积小,能量密度高,无记忆效应,循环寿命长,高压电池和自放电率低的优点。 它们与镍镉和镍氢电池不同。 有必要考虑对锂电池进行充电和放电。 避免特性劣化的可靠性。 锂电池的过充电,过放电,过电流和短路的维护非常重要,因此通常在电池组中设计维护电路以维护锂电池。


  由于锂离子电池的能量密度高,因此难以确保电池的可靠性。 在过度充电的情况下,温度升高后电池的能量将过剩,因此电解质会分解产生气体,由于内部压力的增加,可能导致自燃或破裂; 相反,在过放电条件下,电解质将分解并引起电池特性,并且耐久性下降,从而减少了可充电次数。


  锂离子电池的维护电路应确保在这种过充和放电条件下的可靠性,并避免特性下降。 锂离子电池的维护电路由维护IC和两个功率MOSFET组成,在此期间,维护IC监视电池电压,并在出现过充或放电情况时切换到外部功率MOSFET来维护电池,维护IC的功能过多。 充电维护,过放电维护和过电流/短路维护。


  过度充电维护IC的原理是:当外部充电器为锂电池充电时,须停止充电条件,以避免因温度升高而导致内部压力升高。 此时,维护IC需要检测电池电压,当电池电压达到4.25V(假设电池过充电点为4.25V)时,它将激活过充电维护,将功率MOS从打开变为关闭,然后停止充电 。


  另外,有必要注意由噪声引起的过充电检测的故障,以避免判断为过充电维护。 因此,需要设置延迟时间,并且延迟时间不能短于噪声的持续时间。


  在过放电的情况下,电解质分解并且电池特性劣化,导致充电次数减少。 使用锂电池维护IC可以避免过放电并完成电池维护功能。 过放电维护IC的原理:为了避免锂电池过放电,假设将锂电池连接到负载。 当锂电池的电压低于其过放电电压检测点(假定为2.3V)时,将激活过放电维护功能,以使功率MOSFET从开到关并切断放电,以避免 电池过放电,并保持电池处于低静态电流的待机模式。 此时的电流仅为0.1uA。


  当锂电池连接到充电器,并且锂电池的电压高于此时的过放电电压时,可以避免过放电维持功能。 另外,考虑到脉冲放电的条件,过放电检测电路具有避免故障的延迟时间。


分享到:
首页  |  关于我们  |  产品中心  |  开发能力  |  新闻中心  |  联系我们
———————————————————————————————

天津公司

天津市津南区双鑫工业园五大街26

+86-22-23869972

成都公司:                                                          

四川省成都市天府新区邛崃产业园区

+86-28-88763469

匹兹堡公司:

1613  Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, Allegheny, PA, 15222

jswyh@tjeminent.com



手机版